OSINT warmup on small arms

modded-Type-56-folding-stock
A Norinco Type 56-1 confiscated by the Philippine National Police after the PNP announced the arrest of five persons for being hired killers for certain unnamed political candidates for the 2019 elections as confirmed by Director General Oscar Albayalde. Image courtesy of UNTV.

I’m going to practice doing OSINT work for the first time from anything that’s taking place in the Asia-Pacific Region since my interests are concentrated there. But if anything interesting pops up, I’ll take a look at it.

From the UNTV photo of the assault rifle as presented by the PNP, the confiscated assault rifle is a Norinco Type 56-1, which one can tell by the front sight. Since the front sight is hooded, it’s an indication that it’s Chinese-made while those made in the Soviet Union  have eared front sights. I’m able to identify the bipod as a FAB T-Pod.

FAB-Defense-T-Pod-photo
Stock footage of a FAB Defense T-Pod grip as mounted on the Type 56-1. Image courtesy of FAB Defense/Israeli Weapons Store.

I have yet to identify the other accessories mounted on the Type 56-1, including the RIS, pistol grip and red dot sight. If anyone can assist me in identifying them or can help me find other images of it, I would be grateful.

 

Leave a comment